Homepage link Council Meetings Link Officers link Membership Link GA J Sci Link Annual meeting link Related Links
GA Academy of Science logo
Section Officers of the Academy

Chair (term) Secretary (term) Councilor (term)
SECTION I.  BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES
Johnathan Davis (ends 2017)
Department of Biology
Young Harris College
P.O. Box 68
1 College St.
Young Harris, GA  30582
jgdavis@yhc.edu
Amanda Duffus (ends 2017)
Gordon State College
Barnesville, GA
Office: 678-359-5464
aduffus@gordonstate.edu
Brian Schwartz (ends 2018)
Columbus State University
Columbus, GA
706-569-3017
schwartz_brian@columbusstate.edu
SECTION II.  CHEMISTRY
Daniel Wade Holley (ends 2017)
Lenoir Hall 312
Columbus State University
Columbus, GA
865-719-2175
holley_daniel@columbusstate.edu
Samuel Abegaz (ends 2017)
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Columbus State University
Columbus, GA 31907
abegaz_samuel@columbusstate.edu
Charlie Swor (ends 2018)
Young Harris College
706-379-5277

cdswor@yhc.edu
SECTION III.  EARTH and ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES
Mark Groszos (ends 2018)
Valdosta University
Valdosta, GA
229-333-5664
msgroszo@valdosta.edu
Vacant (ends 2016)
Alfred J. Mead (ends 2017)
Biological & Environmental Sciences
Georgia College & State University
CBX 081
Milledgeville, GA 31061
478-445-1091
Dept: 478-445-0809
dax: 478-445-5290
al.mead@gcsu.edu
SECTION IV.  PHYSICS, MATH, COMPUTER SCIENCE, ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY
Ajith DeSilva (ends 2017)
Dept. of Physics
University of West Georgia
Carrollton, GA 30118
678-839-4089
fax: 678-839-4088
ldesilva@westga.edu
Arun Saha (ends 2017)
Albany State University
Albany, GA
229-430-4816
arun.saha@asurams.edu
Javier Hasbun (ends 2017)
Dept. of Physics
University of West Georgia
678-839-4092
fax: 678-839-4088
jhasbun@westga.edu
SECTION V.  BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES
Seyed Hosseini (ends 2018)
Associate Professor of Biology
Life & Earth Sciences
Georgia Perimeter College
Atlanta, GA
678-891-3755
Dept: 678-891-3750
seyed.hosseini@gpc.edu
 
Jennifer Schroeder (ends 2018)
Department of Biology
Young Harris College
Young Harris, GA
706-379-5217
jschroeder@yhc.edu
Andrea Kwiatkowsi (ends 2018)
Young Harris College
Young Harris, GA
706-379-5241
akwiatkowsi@yhc.edu
Robert McDonough (ends 2017)
Professor Emeritus of Biology
Georgia Perimeter College
172 Coventry Rd.
Decatur, GA 30030
Home: 404-373-5627
Cell: 404-702-1511
robert.mcdonough@gpc.edu
SECTION VI.  PHILOSOPHY & HISTORY OF SCIENCE
Charmayne Patterson (ends 2017)
Department of History
Clark Atlanta University
Atlanta, GA 30314
404-880-8247
cpatterson@cau.edu
Elliott O. Edwards, Jr. (ends 2017)
Math & Science Teacher
Savannah-Chatham Public Schools
122 Grays Creek Dr.
Savannah, Ga. 31410

Ronald E. Mickens (ends 2018)
Department of Physics
Clark Atlanta University
Atlanta, GA 30314
404-880-6923
rmickens@cau.edu

SECTION VII.  SCIENCE EDUCATION
Peter Roessle (ends 2017)
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Covington, GA
770-278-1382
Dept: 770-278-1263
proessle@gsu.edu
Vacant (ends 2017)
Mike Sakuta (ends 2017)
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Covington, GA
770-278-1268
Dept: 770-278-1263
msakuta@gsu.edu
SECTION VIII.  ANTHROPOLOGY
Teresa P. Raczek (ends 2017)
Geography & Anthropology
Kennesaw State University
402 Bartow Ave.
Kennesaw, GA 30144
470-578-2566
dept: 470-578-2373
fax: 470-578-2373
traczek@kennesaw.edu
 
Lisa Gezon (ends 2018)
University of West Georgia
Carrollton, GA
678-839-6457
lgezon@westga.edu
M. Jared Wood (ends 2017)
Sociology & Anthropology
Georgia Southern University
P.O. Box 8051
Statesboro, GA 30460
912-478-5789
mwood@georgiasouthern.edu

Updated 4 Apr 2016