Homepage link Council Meetings Link Officers link Membership Link GA J Sci Link Annual meeting link Related Links
GA Academy of Science logo
Section Officers of the Academy

Chair (term) Secretary (term) Councilor (term)
SECTION I.  BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES
Margaret Smith (ends 2019)
Department of Biology
University of North Georgia

Dahlonega, GA  30597
Office: 706-864-1488
margaret.smith@ung.edu
Amanda Duffus (ends 2019)
Gordon State College
Barnesville, GA
Office: 678-359-5464
aduffus@gordonstate.edu
Michael Bender (ends 2021)
University of North Georgia
Gainesville, GA
michael.bender@ung.edu
 
SECTION II.  CHEMISTRY
Samuel Abegaz (ends 2019)
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Columbus State University
Columbus, GA 31907

abegaz_samuel@columbusstate.edu
Charlie Swor (ends 2019)
Young Harris College
706-379-5277
cdswor@yhc.edu
Kerri Taylor (ends 2020)
University Hall 022
Columbus State University
Columbus, GA 31907
706-507-8487

taylor_kerri1@columbusstate.edu
SECTION III.  EARTH and ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES
Sam Mutiti (ends 2020)
CBX 081
Georgia College & State University
Milledgeville, GA 31061
478-445-0809
sam.mutiti@gcsu.edu
Can Denizman (ends 2020)
Valdosta State University
1500 N. Patterson St.
Valdosta, GA 31698
229-249-2744
cdenizman@valdosta.edu
Alfred J. Mead (ends 2020)
Biological & Environmental Sciences
Georgia College & State University
CBX 081
Milledgeville, GA 31061
478-445-1091
Dept: 478-445-0809
dax: 478-445-5290
al.mead@gcsu.edu
SECTION IV.  PHYSICS, MATH, COMPUTER SCIENCE, ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY
Ajith DeSilva (ends 2019)
Dept. of Physics
University of West Georgia
Carrollton, GA 30118
678-839-4089
fax: 678-839-4088
ldesilva@westga.edu
Arun Saha (ends 2019)
Albany State University
Albany, GA
229-430-4816
arun.saha@asurams.edu
Nicholas Sterling (ends 2020)
University of West Georgia
1601 Maple St.
Carrollton, GA 30118
678-839-5139
nsterlin@westga.edu
SECTION V.  BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES
Mark Hollier (ends 2020)
555 N. Indian Creek Dr.
Clarkston, GA 30021
678-891-3779
mhollier@gsu.edu
Mark D. Graves (ends 2020)
555 N. Indian Creek Dr.
Clarkston, GA 30021
706-977-5573
mgraves1@gsu.edu
Seyed Hosseini (ends 2020)
Associate Professor of Biology
Life & Earth Sciences
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA
678-891-3755
Dept: 678-891-3750
shosseini@gsu.edu
SECTION VI.  PHILOSOPHY & HISTORY OF SCIENCE
Charmayne Patterson (ends 2019)
Department of History
Clark Atlanta University
Atlanta, GA 30314
404-880-8247
cpatterson@cau.edu
Imani Beverly (ends 2020)
Woodruff Library
111 James P. Burley Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30319
404-978-2034
ibeverly@avctr.edu
Kale Oyedeji (ends 2021)
5343 Fox Valley Trace
Stone Mountain, GA 30088
770-469-5331
kaleoyedeji@comcast.net
SECTION VII.  SCIENCE EDUCATION
Peter Roessle (ends 2019)
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Covington, GA
770-278-1382
Dept: 770-278-1263
proessle@gsu.edu
Amy Salter (ends 2019)
Georgia State University
107 Faith Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30316
678-761-6414
aoyenuga1@student.gsu.edu
Mike Sakuta (ends 2020)
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Covington, GA
770-278-1268
Dept: 770-278-1263
msakuta@gsu.edu
SECTION VIII.  ANTHROPOLOGY
Alice Gooding (ends 2019)
Kennesaw State University
402 Bartow Ave.
Kennesaw, GA 30144
470-578-9147
afazloll@kennesaw.edu
 
Vacant (ends 2020)
William Balco (ends 2020)
University of North Georgia
Dahlonega, GA 30597
706-864-1873
william.balco@ung.edu

Updated 4 Oct 2018