Homepage link Council Meetings Link Officers link Membership Link GA J Sci Link Annual meeting link Related Links
GA Academy of Science logo
Section Officers of the Academy

CHAIR (term) SECRETARY (term) COUNCILOR (term)
SECTION I.  BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES
David Patterson (ends 2021)
Department of Biology
University of North Georgia

Dahlonega, GA  30597
404-323-8370
david.patterson@ung.edu
Brian Schwartz (ends 2021)
Jordan Hall 328
Columbus State University
Columbus, GA 31907
706-569-3017
schwartz_brian@columbusstate.edu
Michael Bender (ends 2021)
University of North Georgia
Gainesville, GA
michael.bender@ung.edu
 
SECTION II.  CHEMISTRY
Charlie Swor (ends 2021)
PO Box 68
Young Harris College
Youg Harris, GA 30582
706-379-5277

cdswor@yhc.edu
Brian Hoffman (ends 2021)
PO Box 68
Young Harris College
Youg Harris, GA 30582
706-379-5134
bhoffman@yhc.edu
Kerri Taylor (ends 2020)
University Hall 022
Columbus State University
Columbus, GA 31907
706-507-8487

taylor_kerri1@columbusstate.edu
SECTION III.  EARTH & ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES
Sam Mutiti (ends 2020)
CBX 081
Georgia College & State University
Milledgeville, GA 31061
478-445-0809
samuel.mutiti@gcsu.edu
Can Denizman (ends 2020)
Valdosta State University
1500 N. Patterson St.
Valdosta, GA 31698
229-249-2744
cdenizman@valdosta.edu
Alfred J. Mead (ends 2020)
Biological & Environmental Sciences
Georgia College & State University
CBX 081
Milledgeville, GA 31061
478-445-1091
Dept: 478-445-0809
dax: 478-445-5290
al.mead@gcsu.edu
SECTION IV.  PHYSICS, MATH, COMPUTER SCIENCE, ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY
Jay Dunn (ends 2021)
2101 Womack Rd.
Georgia State University
Dunwoody, GA 30338
770-841-6506
jdunn1@gsu.edu
Luminda Kulasiri (ends 2021)
1100 S. Marietta Pkwy
Kennesaw State University
Marietta, GA 30060
470-578-4208
rkulasir@kennesaw.edu
Nicholas Sterling (ends 2020)
University of West Georgia
1601 Maple St.
Carrollton, GA 30118
678-839-5139
nsterlin@westga.edu
SECTION V.  BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES
Mark Hollier (ends 2020)
555 N. Indian Creek Dr.
Clarkston, GA 30021
678-891-3779
mhollier@gsu.edu
Mark D. Graves (ends 2020)
555 N. Indian Creek Dr.
Clarkston, GA 30021
706-977-5573
mgraves1@gsu.edu
Seyed Hosseini (ends 2020)
Associate Professor of Biology
Life & Earth Sciences
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA
678-891-3755
Dept: 678-891-3750
shosseini@gsu.edu
SECTION VI.  PHILOSOPHY & HISTORY OF SCIENCE
Charmayne Patterson (ends 2021)
Department of History
Clark Atlanta University
Atlanta, GA 30314
404-880-8247
cpatterson@cau.edu
Imani Beverly (ends 2020)
Woodruff Library
111 James P. Burley Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30319
404-978-2034
ibeverly@avctr.edu
Bryan Briones (ends 2022)Woodruff Library
111 James P. Burley Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30319
404-978-2100
bbriones@auctr.edu
SECTION VII.  SCIENCE EDUCATION
PaviElle Johnson (ends 2021)
239 Cedar Lane
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Covington, GA 30014
678-891-2847
plockhart1@gsu.edu
Amy Salter (ends 2021)
830 Westview Dr.
Atlanta, GA 30314
470-639-0935
amy.salter@morehouse.edu
Mike Sakuta (ends 2020)
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Covington, GA 30014
678-891-2466
Dept: 678-891-2453
msakuta@gsu.edu
SECTION VIII.  ANTHROPOLOGY
Alice Gooding (ends 2021)
1000 Chastain Rd.
Kennesaw State University
Kennesaw, GA 30144
470-578-2503
alice.gooding@kennesaw.edu
 
Jared Wood (ends 2020)
PO Box 8051
Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, GA 30461
912-478-5789
mwood@georgiasouthern.edu
William Balco (ends 2020)
Barnes Hall
University of North Georgia
Dahlonega, GA 30597
706-867-2881
william.balco@ung.edu

Updated 16 Oct 2019