Homepage link Council Meetings Link Officers link Membership Link GA J Sci Link Annual meeting link Related Links
GA Academy of Science logo
Section Officers of the Academy

CHAIR (term) SECRETARY (term) COUNCILOR (term)
SECTION I.  BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES
Jason Lang (ends 2023)
Department of Biology
University of North Georgia - Gainesville Campus

Oakwood, GA  30566
678-717-2321
jason.lang@ung.edu
Tom Hancock (ends 2023)
Department of Biology
Middle Georgia State University
Macon, GA 31206
336-408-5927
thomas.hancock2@mga.edu
David Patterson (ends 2024)
Department of Biology
University of North Georgia
Dahlonega, GA 30533
404-323-8370
david.patterson@ung.edu
 
SECTION II.  CHEMISTRY
Brian Hoffman (ends 2023)
Department of Chemistry Young Harris College
Youg Harris, GA 30582
706-379-5134

bhoffman@yhc.edu
Seungjin Lee (ends 2023)
School of Sciences and Technology
Georgia Gwinnett College
Lawrenceville, GA 30043
470-271-5553
seungjin.lee@ggc.edu
Tolulope Salami (ends 2022)
Department of Chemistry
Valdosta State University
Valdosta, GA 31698
229-333-5816

tosalami@valdosta.edu
SECTION III.  EARTH & ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES
Alfred J. Mead (ends 2023)
Biological & Environmental Sciences
Georgia College & State University
CBX 081
Milledgeville, GA 31061
478-445-1091
Dept: 478-445-0809
dax: 478-445-5290
al.mead@gcsu.edu
 
Julius E. Schneider (ends 2023)
Department of Biology University of East Georgia
Swainsboro, GA 30401
478-289-2143
jschneid@ega.edu
Sam Mutiti (ends 2023)
CBX 081
Georgia College & State University
Milledgeville, GA 31061
478-445-0809
samuel.mutiti@gcsu.edu
SECTION IV.  PHYSICS, MATH, COMPUTER SCIENCE, ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY
Jay Dunn (ends 2023)
2101 Womack Rd.
Georgia State University
Dunwoody, GA 30338
770-841-6506
jdunn1@gsu.edu
Kisa Ranasinghe (ends 2023)
1100 S. Marietta Pkwy
Kennesaw State University
Marietta, GA 30060
470-578-4210
kranasin@kennesaw.edu
Vacant
SECTION V.  BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES
Jennifer Schroeder (ends 2023)                    Department of Biology Young Harris College
Youg Harris, GA 30582
706-379-5217

jcschroeder@yhc.edu
Virginia R. Falkenberg (ends 2023)
Department of Biology
Georgia State Perimeter College - Clarkston Campus
Clarkston, GA 30021
678-891-2754 
vfalkenberg@gsu.edu
Seyed Hosseini (ends 2024)
Associate Professor of Biology
Life & Earth Sciences
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA
678-891-3755
Dept: 678-891-3750
shosseini@gsu.edu
SECTION VI.  PHILOSOPHY & HISTORY OF SCIENCE
Ronald Mickens (ends 2023)
Department of Mathematics
Clark Atlanta University
Atlanta, GA 30314
404-880-6923
rmickens@cau.edu
Imani Beverly (ends 2023)
Woodruff Library
111 James P. Burley Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30319
404-978-2034
ibeverly@auctr.edu
Bryan Briones (ends 2022) Woodruff Library
111 James P. Burley Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30319
404-978-2100
bbriones@auctr.edu
SECTION VII.  SCIENCE EDUCATION
PaviElle Johnson (ends 2023)
239 Cedar Lane
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Covington, GA 30014
678-891-2847
plockhart1@gsu.edu
Amy Salter (ends 2023)
Morehouse College
820 Westview Dr.
Atlanta, GA 30314
404-639-0934
amy.salter@morehouse.edu
Nicole Harsch (ends 2023)
Perimeter College, Georgia State University
Covington, GA 30014
678-891-2466
Dept: 678-891-2453
nharsch@gsu.edu
SECTION VIII.  ANTHROPOLOGY
Susan Kirkpatrick Smith (ends 2023)
Dept. of Geography and Anthropology
Kennesaw State University
Kennesaw, GA 30144
470-578-6247
ssmith1@kennesaw.edu
 
Frank L'Engle Williams (ends 2023)
Department of Anthropology, Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA 30302
404-413-5154
frankwilliams@gsu.edu
Teresa Raczek (ends 2023)
Dept. of Geography and Anthropology
Kennesaw State University
Kennesaw, GA 30144
470-578-2566
traczek@kennesaw.edu

Updated 29 April 2021 (by ADS)